A 1940’s Inspired Outfit…..

For as long as I can remember I’ve loved clothes and makeup from eras past. I remember in my teens I would spend hours listening to music from the 50s and 60’s while admiring the full poodle skirts. I did have a couple of full skirts and loved nothing more than to be dancing the jive in them along with my mum. I would tell my mum that I really believed I was born in the wrong era…. As a teen of the 90s I just couldn’t get behind hip hop or techno music and lets not even talk about the grunge fashion at the time…ugh what was everyone thinking.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been doing my research and looking at different style dresses from the 40’s and 50’s and I have to say I love the design and look of them. I feel they’re much more tailored and flattering than alot of the dresses that are out today. Now don’t get me wrong I’m not bagging all fashion I just happen to think that dresses that hang like tents aren’t very flattering to a woman’s figure no matter what her size…….so for that reason as well as the fact I want my outfits to be a little more dressy than casual I’m going back in time with some of my styling from now on….I’ll still have my nice cool summer dress for the beach (which I’m wearing now as it’s hot) and the odd gym pants for working out as well as a couple of pairs of daggy shorts for gardening/painting in but on the whole I’m making a switch…..slowly but surely as I don’t want to burn a hole in my pocket….

So here’s my first change over….I found this dress in Target and fell in love with it as soon as I saw it….

A 40's inspired outfit...

A 40’s inspired outfit…I had to put a camisol underneath or this dress is just a tad too low cut for me….

Along with the outfit came the vintage hairstyle and makeup……the makeup I’ve been wearing for a few weeks now and love, the hairstyle was a first attempt and I’m really happy with how it came out….it was my first ever attempt at pin curls and while it took me a while to get them all in and I had to fight with my hands to get them to do what I wanted  it was worth it….

Pin curls in and setting.....this is not an easy thing to do but with persistence you can get there.....

Pin curls in and setting…..this is not an easy thing to do but with persistence you can get there…..

Pin curls out and styled....I was really happy with just how much curl I got from this set and  how easy it was to style....

Pin curls out and styled….I was really happy with just how much curl I got from this set and how easy it was to style….

And of course an outfit wouldn’t be complete without the perfect pair of shoes and thankfully for me they just happened to turn up on my doorstep Thursday morning…..someone must have know something….

Mary Janes from Novo...

Mary Janes from Novo…

I love the heel on these shoes. Although they’re higher than I was expecting the square heel makes them more comfortable and easier to walk in and naturally I’m in love with them….

So there we have it my first vintage outfit and a new one on the way…..how about you, could you go back in time to when fashion was more feminine and tailored?? Could you get in the habit of setting your hair when going out or putting on a little more makeup than lipstick and mascara or does it all seem like too much work for the times we live in?? I personally love it and wished more people would dress up a little more instead of looking like clones of each other in jeans and shirts…..but then maybe that’s just me…well until next time take care and A bientot…..xo

Michelle

2 thoughts on “A 1940’s Inspired Outfit…..

  1. Amy (Bubbles and Blush) says:

    Oh I love dresses from that era – they really flatter a woman’s body, and I love that they came back into fashion! We can’t all be straight up & down, and I love clothes that let me emphasize my hourglass shape.

    Plus – your hair turned out so well! I really love it, it suits you so much & the effort getting the pin curls right was worth it. I need to be more patient with hairstyles.

    • mylifemylovesmyhome says:

      Hi Amy, yes I much prefer past fashions and can’t wait to get my new dress. Do be more patient when trying new hairstyles as it really is worth the effort. I loved the way my hair came out and bought some new hot rollers the other day, which I’m hoping to try out tomorrow.

Bonjour I love hearing from you so leave a comment..

